Armenia - OSCE

 The OSCE is one of the largest regional political organizations dealing with the security issues. As of today it encompasses 57 participating states from Europe, Central Asia and North America. All 57 participating States enjoy equal status, and decisions are taken by consensus on a politically, but not legally binding basis.

Armenia has acceded to the OSCE on January 30 1992. The Permanent Mission of Armenia to the OSCE cooperates with the OSCE participating states, OSCE partners for cooperation and the OSCE executive structures to promote Organization’s multidimensional and comprehensive approaches to security which issues ranging from the politico-military and economic-environmental aspects to the human dimension.

The peace process of the Nagorno-Karabakh conflict resolution runs in the framework of the OSCE Minsk Group under the aegis of Co-Chairs France, Russian Federation and the United States of America. The permanent members of the Minsk Group include the following participating States: Belarus, Germany, Italy, Sweden, Finland and Turkey as well as Armenia and Azerbaijan andthe OSCE Troika.

The High Level Planning Group was established within the framework of the OSCE with an open-ended mandate issued on 23 March 1995, aimed at developing a plan for the establishment, force structure requirements and operation of a possible future multinational OSCE peacekeeping force for the area of Nagorno-Karabakh conflict.

On 10 August 1995, the OSCE Chairman-in-Office appointed a Personal Representative of the CiO on the Conflict Dealt with by the OSCE Minsk Conference. Ambassador Andrzej Kasprzyk of Poland was appointed Personal Representative in January 1997, after having been Acting Personal Representative since July 1996.

The OSCE Office in Yerevan was established by OSCE Permanent Council decision of 22 July 1999 and became operational on 16 February 2000 following the ratification by the Armenian National Assembly of the Memorandum of Understanding between the OSCE and the Armenian Ministry of Foreign Affairs.

The Parliamentary Assembly of the OSCE is the platform of inter-parliamentary relations and cooperation. The Delegation of the National Assembly of the RA represents Armenia in the Parliamentary Assembly of the OSCE.